Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Rep. Diane Mitsch Bush: Vote ‘yes’ on 4B for CMC

October 18, 2017 — Vote “yes” on 4B. Colorado Mountain College was created as a locally funded college 50 years ago by a vote of 2-to-1. Since that time, CMC has served nearly 500,000 students and is the primary provider of police officers, fire fighters, nurses, early childhood educators

Learn more »

Michelle Dover: Vote ‘yes’ on 3C, 3D

October 18, 2017 — Be on the lookout for your mail-in ballot. I will be voting "yes" on 3C and 3D to ensure the safety of our children, while also being a responsible steward of our community properties. It is important to note that Colorado spends about 25 percent

Learn more »

Roger Ashton: Community-wide solution for community-wide change

October 18, 2017 — The Yampa Valley Housing Authority has a recipe for success. The Reserves at Steamboat, the new low-income housing complex at the corner of U.S. Highway 40 and Elk River Road demonstrates a small community investment can result in big housing successes. Through a public-private partnership,

Learn more »

Tom Zehner: Why is the President hurting people rather than helping them?

October 18, 2017 — The president's agenda has focused on unwinding Barack Obama's legacy. He's more focused on destroying his nemesis than trying to replace, to fix or to improve Obama's biggest accomplishments from the Iran deal to environmental regulation. The White House announced it would no longer pay

Learn more »

John Spezia: Don’t substitute opinions for fact when talking about climate change

October 18, 2017 — What is weather? What is climate? We can get 8 inches of snow on Oct. 1 but wait five minutes, and the weather will change or it can snow any day of the year. This is all weather and describes daily changes in the atmosphere that

Learn more »

Our view: Vote ‘yea’ on 5A

October 17, 2017 — Steamboat Springs has been debating the issue of affordable housing for years now, and this fall, citizens have the opportunity to take some action when they consider Referendum 5A, which appears on the Nov. 7 ballot. The ballot measure, proposed by the Yampa Valley Housing

Learn more »

Bud Romberg: ‘Give a dime’ for affordable housing

October 17, 2017 — Affordable housing has been a problem in Steamboat Springs as long as we have been here — 51 years — and the problems get worse when the economy is good and eases when the economy drops off. Finally in 2004, the Yampa Valley Housing Authority

Learn more »

Ken Mauldin: Housing subsidy misguided

October 17, 2017 — The Yampa Valley Housing Authority should place defined, contractual limits on the amount of time a healthy, employable person can receive basic housing subsidy from taxpayers. Otherwise, the workforce housing problem in our community will only get worse, never better. While it’s a noble endeavor

Learn more »

Ken Brenner: Passage of 4B will protect public investment in CMC

October 17, 2017 — I serve you as one of your trustees, elected to protect Colorado Mountain College and the investment you have made in higher education in Northwest Colorado for the past 50 years. The 1982 Gallagher Amendment, combined with Colorado's convoluted tax system and explosive growth on

Learn more »

Katy Lee: 3C, 3D address district’s critical maintenance issues

October 17, 2017 — There are two tax proposals for school funding on the upcoming ballot that merit wider community discussion. Ballot question 3D is a $12.9 million bond request to repair roofs, correct the HVAC system at the middle school and address safety issues at Gardner field. Ballot

Learn more »

Community Connection: SOS Outreach in Steamboat helps serve youth

October 15, 2017 — In Ski Town, U.S.A., we pride ourselves on having a world class ski and snowboard resort minutes from downtown that everyone can enjoy.  Our economy flourishes with every snowflake, and SUV's with ski racks line the roads heading to the mountain every day.  While most

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: When reading is harder than it should be

October 15, 2017 — Don't be fooled by the title; learning to read is hard. Stanislas Dehaene outlines in his book, “Reading in the Brain,” our brains were not originally designed to read.  Our brains were designed to hunt for food and look out for predators, not to create

Learn more »

Our view: Schools are among our most critical assets

October 15, 2017 — The success the Steamboat Springs School District has had in attracting and retaining top-notch teachers and staff is the primary reason our schools are ranked among the top 10 in Colorado. They are the human assets that help to rank our schools among our very

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: What was I thinking?

October 14, 2017 — Most of our regular readers and friends know that my dog Skippy died suddenly at the end of July.  The loss and grief can still sneak up on me unexpectedly.  Many have gone through this loss at one time or another.  You know it when

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Cloverdale Restaurant to receive Historic Routt County’s Preservation Leadership Award

October 13, 2017 — Every year Historic Routt County recognizes an outstanding preservation leader or preservation project in Routt County. The recipients are projects and people familiar to you, efforts that have enriched our community, enhanced our awareness and appreciation of Routt County’s history and shown us that historic

Learn more »

Jim Gill: We need to assess how 1/2-cent sales tax dollars are spent

October 11, 2017 — Regarding Jerry Buelter's Oct. 9 letter to the editor, "3C, 3D address district's most pressing needs", the community and school district thanks for the creation of the original ½-cent sales tax dedicated to the educational needs of our school district truly belongs to all those

Learn more »

Routt County elections team: Come try the new voting equipment

October 11, 2017 — The Routt County Clerk and Recorders Elections Division would like to invite the community to participate in a public demonstration of the new Dominion voting equipment. This demonstration will take place this Saturday, Oct. 14 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. on the Historic Routt County

Learn more »

Rim Watson: Soroco has exceptional employees

October 11, 2017 — In a previous article in the Steamboat Today newspaper, my perception of the South Routt teachers/employees did not come out nearly as strong as I intended. First of all, the issue with the ballot initiative was not in any way caused by board action/decisions; it

Learn more »

Our view: $1 lift tickets are a distraction

October 11, 2017 — It came out of left field when Steamboat Springs City Council President Walter Magill pitched the idea of $1 weekend lift tickets at Howelsen Hill during last week's budget retreat. The purpose of the cheap tickets, Magill said, would be to attract more skiers to

Learn more »

Geraldine Link: Letter writer was wrong about ‘red tape’ act

October 11, 2017 — I am responding to Ron Wackowski's letter to the editor published Tuesday, "Should ski areas be allowed to profit off public lands for free?" Mr. Wackowski's letter to the editor on ski area permit fee retention gets the facts wrong. Mr. Wackowski states that the

Learn more »